rss
Have a CD - Book or DVD you would
like reviewed on this site? Mail to:
The Serious Comedy Site
41 Deblois
St-Nicephore Qc J2A 2M6

Funny Books - Garrison Keillor - Liberty - A Lake Wobegon Novel - Audio Book

Liberty - A Lake Wobegon Novel - Audio Book

Garrison Keillor
Audio Book 7 CD 7 1/4 Hours
Read by the author
HighBridge Audio 2008

Fans of Garrison Keillor and A Prairie Home Companion will be surprised by Liberty, the 2008 Lake Wobegon novel and its audio book version. Though it is well told and a good story, Liberty is not about the usual whitebread, pastoral, everybody makes do Minnesota town Keillor gives news of every week on American public radio. This audiobook and novel has some adult content and shows a darker side to the people of Lake Wobegon.

Liberty opens with Clint Bunsen, mechanic at Bunsen Motors, a dissatisfied man. His chairmanship of last year’s 4th of July parade made it an unequalled success; this is a problem in Lake Wobegon, a town where “good enough” is the mantra. There has been a coup lead by Viola Torres and this year’s parade will be his last as chairman.

Clint also feels unappreciated by his wife Irene, the perennial Mist County Fair tomato champion, and this leads to an affair with a charming young woman. There is more, much more, including Irene Bunsen walking around with a loaded revolver.

Just about everybody from Garrison Keillor’s Prairie Home Companion news segment makes an appearance, but most characters do not play a big part in the story. Even Pastor Inqvist only gets a line or two in Liberty, A Lake Wobegon Novel.

Having the audio book and not the paperback version of this novel, it is hard to verify so as to be absolutely certain. I did get the feeling there are a few minor mistakes here and there when it comes to little details like the physical description of Angelica, Clint Bunsen’s mistress, or what was set up in the hospitality suite at Art’s Night O’Rest Motor Lodge. This is a minor quibble.

Liberty, A Lake Wobegon Novel is a bit of a shaggy dog story. What really makes it interesting for long time Garrison Keillor fans is it reveals the real nature of some of the town’s most famous characters.

I have never been a fan of Keillor in book form. His weak writing style and the lack of any real substance to these tales is obvious in print. In audio book form, Keillor’s oratory skills really make up for his shortcomings.

Other Garrison Keillor Reviews

The Christmas Companion With Garrison Keillor: 2 comedy CD set great stocking stuffer

The Adventures Of Guy Noir: Fans of Prairie Home Companion will certainly enjoy this two sketch comedy CD set

Local Man Moves To The City: different from what you are used to on the Prairie Home Companion show.

A Prairie Home Companion It's Only A Show: Prairie Home Companion compilation from HighBridge Audio,

Comedy Theater: For those who remember a kinder, gentler Prairie Home Companion

Gospel Birds: This Garrison Keillor CD is definitely better than what we have heard in the last couple of years or so as News From Lake Wobegone

Guy Noir Radio Private Eye: Radio Private Eye is only one of two Garrison Keillor CD collections of Guy Noir stories

More News From Lake Wobegon: the stories from More News From Lake Wobegon are funny

Dusty And Lefty The Lives Of The Cowboys: 6 complete stories on this 10-track cowboy comedy CD

Songs Of The Cat: Any cat lover must have this very funny Garrison Keillor CD

Mother, Father, Uncle, Aunt: 2 Garrison Keillor CD set from when Wobegon was not political.

WLT A Radio Romance: How often do you get to suggest to a novelist to stick to the news?

A Prairie Home Companion Commercial Radio: great compilation comedy CD of Prairie Home Companion commercials

A Prairie Home Companion 10th Anniversary: A less preachy time in Lake Wobegon history.

A Prairie Home Companion - The Movie: Decent movie version of Garrisson Keillor Lake Wobegone radio show

Never Better Stories From Lake Wobegon: 10 News From Lake Wobegon on 2 CDs. Good stuff all around.

Lake Wobegon Loyalty Days: includes perhaps Garrison Keillor's best track ever: The Young Lutheran's Guide to the Orchestra.

Pontoon A Lake Wobegon Novel - Audio Book - Capsule Review: A bowling ball containing the ashes of a Lake Wobegon resident is scheduled to be dropped in the lake as another is having a wedding ceremony on it.

Pontoon A Lake Wobegon Novel - Audio Book Full Review: Better as an audiobook than as a paperback.

More News From Lake Wobegon - Hope: CD reissue of 1989 More News From Lake Wobegon set. A kindler, gentler time and stories

More News From Lake Wobegon - Faith: 4 News segments: Rotten Apples, O Death, The Wise Men, and A trip to Grand Rapids.

English Majors A comedy collection for the highly literate: Perfect gift for the college graduate and funny too.

A Prairie Home Companion - Duets: A who's who of music and the American songbook.

A Prairie Home Companion 4th Annual Farewell Performance: A 2 CD Prairie Home Companion set with more music and less talk.

A Prairie Home Companion 2nd Annual Farewell Performance: A few skits, lots of music including the Everly Brothers: a solid show

A Prairie Home Companion Final Performance: The first final performance. Good but not the best.

A Prairie Home Companion 3rd Annual Farewell Performance: Good stuff including a 2 part 40-minute News From Lake Wobegon

Tourists: Prairie Home Companion CD of esoteric music like klezmer, balalaika, and zydeco

Lake Wobegon USA - Fertility: Prairie Home Companion CD reissue. Finally

Lake Wobegon USA - Patience: Features Aunt Ellie, Duke's 25th, and You're Not the Only One.

Lake Wobegon USA - Youth: Features Blue Devils, Nostalgia, O Christmas Tree, Pageant, and Messy Shoes

Lake Wobegon USA - Rhubarb: Includes Rhubarb, Yellow Ribbon, Sweet Corn, and The Sun's Gonna Shine Someday

Even More Pretty Good Jokes 2CD set: Best of the last 3 years of the Prairie Home Companion Joke Show

A Christmas Blizzard: A non-Lake Wobegon Christmas yarn is decent enough.

Prairie Home Comedy - Radio Songs & Sketches: Lots and lots of musical comedy plus some short skits.

Church People - The Lutherans of Lake Wobegon: Lots of Lutheran based humor the kids are not going to get.

Motherhood: Not quite as good as expected and very loosely about motherhood

Summer Love: A mostly musical record of the Prairie Home Companion 2010 tour in a country western vein.

My Little Town - Stories From Lake Wobegon: 3 CD set includes the story of the Inqvist s departure.



Kindle DX, Free 3G, 3G Works Globally, Graphite, 9.7" Display with New E Ink Pearl Technology